List of English-speaking countries

Complete List of Countries with English as the Official Language

Country Continent Capital Official Language(s) Commonwealth (Members)
South AfricaAfricaPretoriaEnglish + 10 official languagesYes
Antigua and BarbudaAmericaSaint John’sEnglishYes
Australia (Christmas Island)AsiaFlying Fish CoveEnglishAustralian External Territory
Australia (Cocos Islands)AsiaWest IslandEnglishAustralian External Territory
BotswanaAfricaGaboroneTswana and EnglishYes
BruneiAsiaBandar Seri BegawanMalay and EnglishYes
CameroonAfricaYaoundéFrench and EnglishYes
CanadaAmericaOttawaEnglish and FrenchYes
China (Hong Kong)AsiaHong KongChinese and EnglishSpecial Administrative Region
EritreaAfricaAsmaraTigrinya, Arabic, and EnglishNo
EswatiniAfricaMbabaneSwazi and EnglishYes
Federated States of MicronesiaOceaniaPalikirEnglishNo
United StatesAmericaWashington D.C.EnglishNo
United States (Northern Mariana Islands)OceaniaSaipanEnglish, Chamorro, and CarolinianUnincorporated Territory of the United States
United States (U.S. Virgin Islands)AmericaCharlotte AmalieEnglishUnincorporated Territory of the United States
United States (Guam)OceaniaHagåtñaEnglish and ChamorroUnincorporated Territory of the United States
United States (American Samoa)OceaniaPago PagoEnglish and SamoanUnincorporated Territory of the United States
United States (Puerto Rico)AmericaSan JuanSpanish and EnglishUnincorporated Territory of the United States
United States (Midway Atoll)OceaniaMidway AtollEnglishUnincorporated Territory of the United States
United States (Wake Island)OceaniaWake IslandEnglishUnincorporated Territory of the United States
Virgin Islands (British)AmericaRoad TownEnglishBritish Overseas Territory
Virgin Islands (U.S.)AmericaCharlotte AmalieEnglishUnincorporated Territory of the United States
Wales (United Kingdom)EuropeCardiffEnglish and WelshConstituent Country of the United Kingdom
Western SaharaAfricaEl AaiúnArabic and SpanishDisputed Territory
Western SamoaOceaniaApiaSamoan and EnglishYes
Yemen (Aden)AsiaAdenArabic and EnglishYes
Yemen (Sana’a)AsiaSana’aArabic and EnglishYes

How many English-speaking countries are there?

There are currently 60 countries with English as the official language or one of the official languages. The United Kingdom also has 11 overseas territories (Anguilla, Bermuda, Gibraltar, Guernsey, Isle of Man, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Pitcairn Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands, British Virgin Islands, Jersey, Montserrat, and Saint Helena) and 3 Crown Dependencies (Isle of Man, Jersey, and Guernsey) where English is also the official language.

English is also the official language in two autonomous states within the Kingdom of the Netherlands (Curaçao and Saint Martin), 2 Australian external territories (Christmas Island and Cocos Islands), and 5 unincorporated territories of the United States (Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, and American Samoa).

What is the Commonwealth?

The Commonwealth is an intergovernmental organization composed of 54 member states. These states are former territories (colonies) of the British Empire. Queen Elizabeth II serves as both the symbol and the head of the Commonwealth. Member states of the Commonwealth are bound by the Commonwealth Charter, which upholds principles of democracy, respect for human rights, and the rule of law. Commonwealth members also share a common history with the British Empire and, therefore, the English language.

Among the 54 member states of the Commonwealth organization, seven do not have English as their official language: Mozambique, Malaysia, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Maldives, Cyprus, and Nauru. However, English remains present as a secondary language in these countries.