Blog Malta

The top articles of our Malta Blog

Most popular articles about Malta

Frequently Asked Questions | Malta Blog

Where is Malta located and which country does it belong to?

Malta is an island country located in the Mediterranean Sea. It is situated in Southern Europe, specifically in the central Mediterranean, approximately 93 kilometers south of Italy.

Malta is an independent country and has been a member of the European Union since 2004. Its strategic location in the Mediterranean has made it historically significant for trade and defense, and today it is known for its rich history, culture, and picturesque landscapes.

What is the official currency of Malta?

The official currency of Malta is the euro (€). Malta adopted the euro as its national currency on 1 January 2008. Prior to the adoption of the euro, the currency used in Malta was the Maltese pound. However, with the entry into the Eurozone, the Maltese pound ceased to circulate and was replaced by the euro as the only valid currency in the country.

How is the security in Malta?

Malta is generally regarded as a safe country for tourists and residents. It is known for having a low crime rate compared to other European countries. However, as anywhere, it is always important to take basic precautions to ensure personal safety and protect belongings, especially in crowded and touristy areas.

What languages are spoken in Malta?

In Malta, two official languages are spoken: Maltese and English. Maltese is the national language, and English is widely used in public life and business.

When is the best time to travel to Malta?

The best time to travel to Malta is during the spring (April to June) and autumn (September to October). These seasons offer pleasant weather with mild temperatures, fewer tourist crowds, and lower prices compared to the summer months.

When does it get cold in Malta?

The climate in Malta is generally temperate and Mediterranean, which means winters are mild compared to many other regions in northern Europe. Winter in Malta usually starts getting cold from December and extends until February.

What is the climate like in Malta?

Malta has a Mediterranean climate. Summers are hot, sunny and dry, while winters are mild but rainy and windy.

What is the capital of Malta?

The capital of the island of Malta is Valletta. It is a city located on the northeast coast of the island of Malta and serves as the political, administrative, and cultural center of the country. It was founded in 1566 by the Knights of the Order of St. John and is one of the most historic and picturesque cities in Europe, declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1980.

How many islands does the country of Malta have?

The Maltese archipelago is composed of the following 11 islands:Comino Cominotto Delimara Filfla Gozo Halfa Isles of St. Paul (Islas de San Pablo) Malta (the main island) Manoel Ta’ Ċawl Ta’ FrabenIt is important to note that some of these islands are very small or uninhabited, but they are part of the Maltese territory. The main and most populated islands are Malta, Gozo, and Comino.

What do you need to go to Malta?

Malta is a Member State of the European Union (EU), which allows citizens of EU Member States to travel to Malta without a visa and stay in the country for up to 90 days within a 180-day period. EU citizens can enter Malta on presentation of a valid national identity card or passport.

Citizens of some countries may require a visa to enter Malta. Check whether your nationality requires a visa before travelling.